The Theology of Gardening (Part Two)

I really have a deeper appreciation for Jesus’ statement about the harvest, “Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few; therefore pray earnestly to the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into his harvest.” ” (Matthew 9:37–38, ESV). The realization of this for me is that harvesting is simply hard work, and sometimes it is hard to find anyone willing to help with the harvest. I have always been thankful over the years for kind people who have given me some of the produce out of their garden. I can also reflect on how many times someone told me that I could come and get all I wanted out of their garden, only to never follow through because that meant I had to pick it…

These last few weeks our small garden is overflowing and plentiful, I can hardly find anyone who wants to pick it and cannot come close to finding the time to harvest everything that is ready! Isaac, Joy, Hannah Ruth, Abigail, and Jeremiah sat outside with me and shucked corn for almost an hour this past Monday. The kids actually did pretty well and we had a great time, but it was cool and overcast so we were blessed with a cool evening to enjoy. I doesn’t take long at all to realize that when the harvest is ready it takes a lot of work to bring it in.

Recognize that being a laborer for the Lord of the harvest is the greatest privilege on earth, but there will be a cost.
Remember it is not our harvest it is His harvest. We are just glorifying the Lord of the harvest by being obedient laborers.
Realize that the harvest is plentiful, therefore we must get busy with the KINGDOM Dream and let go of the American Dream…..I am recommending EVERYONE READ “Radical” by David Platt

http://www.radicalthebook.com/

68407149.jpg

img_5348.jpg

img_5349.jpg

img_5350.jpg

About George Ross

I am a pastor, church planter, husband, and father of four.
This entry was posted in Family, Leadership, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.