Preparing My Heart For Revival

potters-wheel.jpg

I began a study almost a week ago entitled “Seeking Him” by Nancy Leigh Demoss and Tim Grissom from Life Action Ministries. I just finished day five of week one, “Making It Personal”, I am deeply convicted and concerned that I need genuine revival in my life. Stephen Olford writes, “Revival is not some emotion or worked up excitement; it is rather an invasion from heaven which brings to man a conscious awareness of God.” Oh LORD, I pray by Your grace, invade my life.

The following questions are designed to reveal specific areas of which to be aware as you prepare for personal revival. (Seeking Him pg 12-15)

Preparing My Heart for Revival

1. Genuine Salvation
2 Corinthians 5:17 (ESV)
17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

a. Was there ever a time in my life that I genuinely repented of my sin?
b. Was there ever a time in my life that I placed all my trust in Jesus Christ alone to save me?
c. Was there ever a time in my life that I completely surrendered to Jesus Christ as the Master and Lord of my life?

2. God’s Word
Psalm 119:97 (ESV)
97 Oh how I love your law! It is my meditation all the day.
Psalm 119:140 (ESV)
140 Your promise is well tried, and your servant loves it.

a. Do I love to read and meditate on the Word of God?
b. Are my personal devotions consistent and meaningful?
c. Do I practically apply God’s Word to my everyday life?

3. Humility
Isaiah 57:15 (ESV)
15 For thus says the One who is high and lifted up, who inhabits eternity, whose name is Holy: “I dwell in the high and holy place, and also with him who is of a contrite and lowly spirit, to revive the spirit of the lowly, and to revive the heart of the contrite.

a. Am I quick to recognize and agree with God in confession when I have sinned?
b. Am I quick to admit to others when I am wrong?        
c. Do I rejoice when others are praised and recognized and my accomplishments go unnoticed by men?
d. Do I esteem all others as better than myself?

4. Obedience
1 Samuel 15:22 (ESV)
22 And Samuel said, “Has the Lord as great delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices, as in obeying the voice of the Lord? Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice, and to listen than the fat of rams.
Hebrews 13:17 (ESV)
17 Obey your leaders and submit to them, for they are keeping watch over your souls, as those who will have to give an account. Let them do this with joy and not with groaning, for that would be of no advantage to you.

a. Do I consistently obey what I know God wants me to do?
b. Do I consistently obey the human authorities God has placed over my life?

5. Pure Heart (1 John 1:9)
1 John 1:9 (ESV)
9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

a. Do I confess my sin by name?
b. Do I keep “short sin accounts” with God (confess and forsake as He convicts)?
c. Am I willing to give up all sin for God?

6. Clear Conscience
Acts 24:16 (ESV)
16 So I always take pains to have a clear conscience toward both God and man.

a. Do I consistently seek forgiveness from those I wrong or offend?        
b. Is my conscience clear with every man? (Can I honestly say, “There is no one        I have ever wronged or offended in any way and not gone back to them and sought their forgiveness and made it right”?)

7. Priorities
Matthew 6:33 (ESV)
33 But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

a. Does my schedule reveal that God is first in my life?        
b. Does my checkbook reveal that God is first in my life?        
c. Next to my relationship with God, is my relationship with my family my highest priority?

8. Values
Colossians 3:12 (ESV)
12 Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience,

a. Do I love what God loves and hate what God hates?
b. Do I value highly the things that please God (e.g., giving, witnessing to        lost souls, studying His Word, prayer)?
c. Are my affections and goals fixed on eternal values?

9. Sacrifice
Philippians 3:7–8 (ESV)
7 But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ. 8 Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ

a. Am I willing to sacrifice whatever is necessary to see God move in my life and church (time, convenience, comfort, reputation, pleasure, etc.)?
b. Is my life characterized by genuine sacrifice for the cause of Christ?

10. Spirit Control
Galatians 5:22–25 (ESV)
22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. 24 And those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. 25 If we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit.
Ephesians 5:18–21 (ESV)
18 And do not get drunk with wine, for that is debauchery, but be filled with the Spirit, 19 addressing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody to the Lord with your heart, 20 giving thanks always and for everything to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, 21 submitting to one another out of reverence for Christ.

a. Am I allowing Jesus to be Lord of every area of my life?
b. Am I allowing the Holy Spirit to “fill” (control) my life each day?
c. Is there consistent evidence of the “fruit of the Spirit” being produced in my life?

11. “First Love”
Philippians 1:21 (ESV)
21 For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.
Philippians 1:23 (ESV)
23 I am hard pressed between the two. My desire is to depart and be with Christ, for that is far better.

a. Am I as much in love with Jesus as I have ever been?
b. Am I delighted with Jesus, filled with His joy and peace, and making Him the continual object of my love?

12. Motives
Matthew 10:28 (ESV)
28 And do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather fear him who can destroy both soul and body in hell.
Acts 5:29 (ESV)
29 But Peter and the apostles answered, “We must obey God rather than men.

a. Am I more concerned about what God thinks about my life than about what others think?
b. Would I pray, read my Bible, give, and serve as much if nobody but God ever noticed?
c. Am I more concerned about pleasing God than I am about being accepted and appreciated by men?

13. Moral Purity
Ephesians 5:3–4 (ESV)
3 But sexual immorality and all impurity or covetousness must not even be named among you, as is proper among saints. 4 Let there be no filthiness nor foolish talk nor crude joking, which are out of place, but instead let there be thanksgiving.

a. Do I keep my mind free from books, magazines, or entertainment that could stimulate fantasizing or thoughts that are not morally pure?
b. Are my conversation and behavior pure and above reproach?

14. Forgiveness
Colossians 3:12–13 (ESV)
12 Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, 13 bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive.

a. Do I seek to resolve conflicts in relationships as soon as possible?
b. Am I quick to forgive those who wrong me or hurt me?

15. Sensitivity
Matthew 5:23–24 (ESV)
23 So if you are offering your gift at the altar and there remember that your brother has something against you, 24 leave your gift there before the altar and go. First be reconciled to your brother, and then come and offer your gift.

a. Am I sensitive to the conviction and promptings of God’s Spirit?
b. Am I quick to respond in humility and obedience to the conviction and promptings of God’s Spirit?

16. Evangelism
Luke 24:46 (ESV)
46 and said to them, “Thus it is written, that the Christ should suffer and on the third day rise from the dead,
Luke 24:48 (ESV)
48 You are witnesses of these things.
Romans 9:3 (ESV)
3 For I could wish that I myself were accursed and cut off from Christ for the sake of my brothers, my kinsmen according to the flesh.

a. Do I have a burden for lost souls?
b. Do I consistently witness for Christ?

17. Prayer
1 Timothy 2:1 (ESV)
1 First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people,

a. Am I faithful in praying for the needs of others?
b. Do I pray specifically, fervently, and faithfully for revival in my life, my church, and our nation?

About George Ross

I am a pastor, church planter, husband, and father of four.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.