SOAP Jan 1: “God’s First Question In The Bible”

Scripture:

But the Lord God called to the man and said to him, “Where are you?” ” (Genesis 3:9, ESV)

Observation:

1. We cannot hide from God. What a change Adam and Eve encountered after their sin against God. Instead of enjoying fellowship with the Father in the Garden of Eden, they were hiding in shame after they were aware of their sin. Not much has changed since then, we still think we can hide our sinful selves from God. David tells us in Psalm 139 that it is impossible to hide from God. “Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence? If I ascend to heaven, you are there! If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there! ” (Psalm 139:7–8, ESV)

2. We do not seek God, God seeks us. From the very beginning God takes the initiative in salvation. When we see the sin of Adam and Eve unfold, we realize they broke God’s explicit command not to eat from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, they chose to rebel against God. After they ate their eyes were opened and they realized they had sinned, however instead of running toward God, they ran away from God. Adam never asked God where He was, but God came and found Adam. Kent Hughes writes, God drew Adam from hiding rather than drove him from it. The initial question was not an indictment like “where are you hiding?” but simply “where are you?” There was no hint of accusation. God nudged Adam to come to his senses. The process was graced. Hughes, R. K. (2004). Genesis : Beginning and blessing. Preaching the Word (78). Wheaton, Ill.: Crossway Books.

Application:

1. Reflection. It is a great reminder when I reflect on who I was apart Christ; and when I am aware of who I could be and will be when I am not passionate about Jesus and walking in the Spirit. We are on dangerous ground when we begin to think we have any good in us apart from God’s work of grace in our life. In short, I need to cling to Jesus or I will hide like Adam.
2. Embrace the beauty of Jesus! Even though I was once dead in my sin, by God’s grace I now have new life in Jesus Christ. This is the Gospel, the “good news!” Adam and Eve tried to cover up their sin by making new clothes, and it wouldn’t work. God had to set the example by offering an animal sacrifice of blood and covering Adam and Eve with their skins. Amen, that Jesus is my covering and my righteousness because of HIs substitutionary death and atonement I am accepted and loved by God. This is the beauty of Jesus!
3. Share the Gospel. Paul tells in Romans 1:16, “For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes, to the Jew first and also to the Greek. ” (Romans 1:16, ESV). The Gospel is the message that saves, it is enough, and it alone has the power of God for salvation. I must be bold and active in sharing the Gospel message of Jesus Christ.

Prayer:

LORD, I am so thankful for your grace and mercy! Keep my heart humble and aware of how sinful I can be and will be apart from walking in the Spirit. LORD, may your grace and change in my life, make me compassionate and broken for the lost. Thank you Jesus for being the perfect sacrifice and paying for my sin, thank you Jesus for living, dying, and rising! I pray I love you more each day and that my passion for you is a consuming fire in my life. LORD, I pray for your initiative and grace in the life of my children, Isaac, Hannah-Ruth, Abigail, and Jeremiah; LORD save them. I pray for the grace to be bold and active in sharing the Gospel of Jesus Christ this year. In Jesus name.

About George Ross

I am a pastor, church planter, husband, and father of four.
This entry was posted in SOAP Devotions, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.