CBD: Captain America and Psalm 3

I with many other millions have been amused, amazed, and caught up in the “Avengers” mania that has swept our nation. My favorite character without question is “Captain America. Isaac’s favorite is the “Hulk”, why? I have no idea, but nonetheless he has really been getting into “smashing” things lately.

I was reminded a few weeks ago in my chronological reading, about the significance of a shield in Psalm 3, which is Captain America’s weapon of choice for power and protection. For Captain America his shield is the famous round vibranium red, white, and blue shield with the star in the middle.  In Psalm 3 David say’s, “God is his shield”. Meditating on the scripture reveals so much of David’s trust in God. Here we have the greatest warrior, general, and leader, putting his trust in a sovereign God rather than armies, weapons, or personal skill, during the most tumultuous time in his life. What a tremendous reminder this was for Joy and I, as we are going through a tough season of life with Joy’s health.

As we reflected on Psalm 3 and embraced God’s Word, we celebrated the truth that God was our strength, shield, sustainer, and salvation. What a wonderful picture of all we have in the finished work of Christ.

Here is a brief outline from the Psalm 3 CBD reading, may it be an encouragement to you.

I. The LORD as David’s Strength. (1-2)

Psalm 3:1–2 (ESV)1 O LORD, how many are my foes! Many are rising against me; 2 many are saying of my soul, there is no salvation for him in God. Selah

II. The LORD as David’s Shield. (3-4)

Psalm 3:3–4 (ESV)
3 But you, O LORD, are a shield about me, my glory, and the lifter of my head. 4 I cried aloud to the LORD, and he answered me from his holy hill. Selah
CR: 2 Sam 15:30-31
CR: 2 Sam 17

III. The LORD as David’s Sustainer. (5-6)

Psalm 3:5–6 (ESV)
5 I lay down and slept; I woke again, for the LORD sustained me. 6 I will not be afraid of many thousands of people who have set themselves against me all around.
He Sleeps! (God is Sovereign)

IV. The LORD as David’s Salvation.
Psalm 3:7–8 (ESV)
7 Arise, O LORD! Save me, O my God! For you strike all my enemies on the cheek; you break the teeth of the wicked. 8 Salvation belongs to the LORD; your blessing be on your people! Selah!

About George Ross

I am a pastor, church planter, husband, and father of four.
This entry was posted in Preaching, SOAP Devotions. Bookmark the permalink.